PET/CT scan – FAIL!

fat tuesHappy FAT Tuesday!!!!  I was supposed to be in New Orleans today but changed the trip and thank goodness!  The weather is not very nice there and I’m happy here.  🙂 I hope all y’all enjoyed your paczkis today! Lucky! I didn’t.  I would have had someone brought them to me but I was going to get one myself so I remained good! ha.

I completely forgot to mention yesterday that Sunday morning I received my Washington Post as I do daily and a title caught my attention that read “Dying guitarist Wilco Johnson rocks till the end” and I thought ‘hmm.. I wonder what he is dying from’… of coarse, this article was about his pancreatic cancer diagnosis.  I had read about this online but forgot because I didn’t know who he was.  He was told he had “months to live”.  So was I… over a year ago…?   I did like that he stated that he’s been unexpectedly happy and “In fact it amounted at times to euphoria.”  You are thankful to be alive especially days after such a diagnosis.  It does stop you in your tracks and you start to notice the little things.  I remember being wheelchair’d around and noticing everything little from the paintings I found exquisite at the hospital to the leaves falling and flowers blossoming.

Fat Tuesday turned into a BIG FAT JOKE TUES for me!  How did my PET/CT scan go?  Normally I could say fine.  It went.  We’ll see what happens.  This time it did NOT happen.  I was SO annoyed to get a phone call advising my appointment had been canceled because my insurance company had not spoke with my Dr. yet to clarify that this scan was of necessity.  I am aware that insurance does clear these prior to having ti done and clear them to make sure it is a need basically.  YES it’s a damn need!! WHY hadn’t this been taken care of?!!?  It was over a week that this was scheduled and I know it doesn’t take a week and a 1/2 to make a little ol’ phone call.  I’m not sure if it’s my Dr’s fault or who exactly the balls court it was in but the fact it this really messed everything up!  I am not home the rest of the week and I get chemo Monday so next week is a bad time.  I was supposed to have the results by Monday! ah!  This has never happened before and it better not happen again!  Not a happy camper.

So I am pretty anxious about my trip.  I even shortened it because of my anxiety and Tims work.  A big part is my dogs. My babies!!  So I have a situation with my chocolate bundle-of-love labrador.  Ok, at Christmas in Michigan one night we went over to Tim’s cousins house and the dogs stayed at my bestie Jamies and she said she would keep them in her room so they wouldn’t bark in the am because she had to work.  All went well and the next day she said “Tank (chocolate lab) has MAJOR SEPARATION ANXIETY!!!! I knew he did to some degree because when the sun sets he freaks out and stairs out side and will bark at little noises if his mom (muah) or dad are not home.  When we are home together at night, all is fine.  Day time is fine.  If one is missing at night – not fine.  So leaving him with Jamie that night, she said he whimpered, cried and barked because he missed his parents.  Ahh!! Breaks my heart.  This is the same dog that LOST HIS VOICE (no joke!) from barking when he stayed overnight at the vet place that took his man parts when he was a puppy.  I’m stressing.  I know we have traveled a lot, a lot a lot over the years but he has gotten worse especially since I’ve gotten sick and we are all together more than being gone working 24/7.  I’ve had him in the best of hands where I payed for him to have pool time in a private indoor pool, massage and the whole 9 and it doesn’t matter.  I wish he could (both of them) could just go in my suitcase! 🙂    Ok. I’m done.

Since this week has not been good AT ALL with incidents and hormonal and todays crap… let’s hope I can relax in Florida a little.  I need more ativan! 🙂   If there are problems early tomorrow morning at the airport then I am just heading home, going back to bed and not moving until chemo Monday. haha!!  Goodbye.

xoxo ~Ashley

4 comments on “PET/CT scan – FAIL!

  1. Sandy says:

    I purchased a Thunder Shirt for my dog and it works for anxiety too.

  2. jrcruse says:

    Dear Ashley!!

    It can all be so overwhelming sometimes!! The PET Scans, CT Scans, chemo…insurance companies!! You have every right to have all those feelings! They build and build…then there is the release. It never seemed to get easier, but we kept rolling along and you will too…especially You! I sure hope you get to relax in the sun a couple days…you deserve it!! Weird, but my husband & I were in New Orleans a year ago, taking a break from chemo. Then we drove to Florida…warmer is better. I’m pulling for you to rest up. It will all work out! Namaste!!

  3. george says:

    Dogs are funny, ever since my wife was diagnosed our dog won’t leave her side, if she is working on the computer she lays right across her feet.Hope you have a great trip.

  4. Donna Cesare Ciallella says:

    Have a good time and try to relax! I know what you mean about your dogs and putting them in your suitcase. We went to Florida last month and drove because I wanted to take our dog with us. Took us two days to drive to Boca aand everyone thought we were nuts driving instead of flying byt I wanted to bring Sammy with us. We stayed with friends who have a dog, who is Sammy’s friend so he had to pack his little bags and come with too. After all, he is my baby!

Leave a comment